OOSI Sculpture

Resting Doughboy

1938 / Ernest Moore Viquesney / Lakemore

Doughboy Lakemore old.jpg

Half-sized version of WWI infantryman in uniform standing at parade rest with helmet pushed back, rifle in proper left hand and knapsack and uniform coat held over proper right arm. This statue is considered unique of its kind as it varies in size and stature from Viquesney's typical design of the Doughboy.

This sculpture was stolen and removed from its pedestal sometime in September of 2008. A replacement bronze sculpture was installed at the original location on November 12th of that same year. The original statue, which Army Navy Garrison 273 had purchased and installed in 1938, was kept in its damaged condition at the garrison building in Lakemore. Garrison members James Critchfield and past Commander James Richards decided to attempt to repair it. Nearly three years later, the statue was brought back to the garrison building on Main Street for a dedication ceremony after the village’s Veterans Day program.

Location: The town's center, Intersection of Park, Lake Road and Short Street

County

: Summit

Citation

: Ernest Moore Viquesney, “Resting Doughboy,” Ohio Outdoor Sculpture Inventory, accessed November 16, 2018, http://oosi.sculpturecenter.org/items/show/189.

Dublin Core

Title

Resting Doughboy

Description

Half-sized version of WWI infantryman in uniform standing at parade rest with helmet pushed back, rifle in proper left hand and knapsack and uniform coat held over proper right arm. This statue is considered unique of its kind as it varies in size and stature from Viquesney's typical design of the Doughboy.

This sculpture was stolen and removed from its pedestal sometime in September of 2008. A replacement bronze sculpture was installed at the original location on November 12th of that same year. The original statue, which Army Navy Garrison 273 had purchased and installed in 1938, was kept in its damaged condition at the garrison building in Lakemore. Garrison members James Critchfield and past Commander James Richards decided to attempt to repair it. Nearly three years later, the statue was brought back to the garrison building on Main Street for a dedication ceremony after the village’s Veterans Day program.

Date

1938

Sculpture Item Type Metadata

Location City

Location County

Location Site

The town's center

Location Street

Intersection of Park, Lake Road and Short Street

Creation Date

01/01/1937